Skip to Content
Members Login

Australasian Society for Intellectual Disability

To tweet or not to tweet?

Find an Event:

Jun10

To tweet or not to tweet?

Thursday, 10th Jun 2021
12:30pm 1:30pm
Webinar
Contact:   ASID Secretariat
Email:   secretariat@asid.asn.au

To tweet or not to tweet? Using twitter to promote research

Presented by:

Dr Simone Reppermund  

The webinar will be recorded and made available to all people who register including those unable to participate in the live event.

When: Thursday 10 June 2021

12.30pm - 1.30pm (Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, Brisbane, Hobart)

12.00pm - 1.00pm (Adelaide, Darwin)

10.30am - 11.30am (Perth)

2.30pm - 3.30pm (New Zealand)

Where: Zoom webinar

Cost:  $0 ASID members & Concession / $25 Non- members
This cost includes access to the webinar and the recording.

Non-members - recording only $20

What is the webinar about?

Twitter is used by many researchers and institutions and is seen as a powerful platform to increase the outreach and engagement of projects and publications. Understanding how it works and how it can benefit you and your research can be helpful to increase your networks and to keep up-to-date with new developments in your area.

This webinar will cover the basics of using Twitter for students, academics, and professionals. We will discuss how and what to tweet (and what not), who to follow, how to increase your number of followers and how to promote your research.

Who is presenting?

Simone Reppermund (Dipl-Psych; PhD) is a Scientia Senior Research Fellow at the School of Psychiatry, UNSW Sydney. She is a trained neuropsychologist and her research interests include mental health, cognitive disorders and ageing. Her research focuses mainly on late-life depression, cognitive impairment including dementia, everyday activities in old age, and mental health in intellectual disability.  Through her research, Simone aims to improve health and mental health outcomes for people with cognitive and mental disorders. She uses a range of methods, including epidemiological and data linkage studies. Simone has published 100 peer-reviewed publications with over 4200 citations, and she is Australia’s top ranked author in the area of “Daily Life Activity; Cognitive Dysfunction; Dementia” (1st in Asia/Pacific and 17th worldwide, SciVal, 2015-2020).

Simone also manages the social media profile of the Department of Developmental Disability Neuropsychiatry (3DN). Over the past five years, 3DN’s Twitter account gained over 1,000 followers and has an annual average of 130,000 Twitter impressions.

 

 

Book now »